Preeettttttty!

Image representing iPad as depicted in CrunchBase
Image via CrunchBase

I got an iPad last week.
I must confess, I’ve been hustling so much on client business that I haven’t had a chance to really give it much of a test drive. I’m probably risking having it snatched back from my very hands for admitting this in the ethers. Some higher court of digital-rightness, headed by Mr. Jobs just gave a collective gasp, and at any moment I’ll be fried to a cinder by a Google satellite orbiting 10,000 miles above my head. Where’s my aluminum foil hat?

What I have noticed in my brief tinkering is the quality of the image it delivers. I’m a visual guy, you see (aren’t all guys, you’re probably saying). One thing that has made me gnash my teeth for the last couple years is the void between the spectral magnificence of my HD, mega-pixeled, blu-raydavies, LCD/LED/LDL/HDL, 50-inch Plasmod-a-tron and what passes for a quality picture on the Web. Which frankly, mostly look like ass.

Our recent integrated campaign for Manheim included 16:9 HD Web videos. I was a bit nervous at the prospect of how they would look online. As an agency, we deliver the highest quality work for our clients. If the channel it runs on can’t equal that quality, then our best efforts get trashed. I’m happy to say, on the iPad the videos look just as good as they did when we made them.

I now see a light at the end of the proverbial…and it’s coming from the screen I hold in my hand. It’s a symbiotic relationship, you see. The better the quality of the image a device can deliver the more demand there will be for better quality images. And that means future Web development will be looking to upgrade the pictures we see and navigate through. If you don’t believe me, check out the convergence just announced by Google, Sony, Intel, and Logitech.

So fly, be free, and make prettier content.

— Chris Schlegel, Chief Creative Officer

Share

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a comment

Filed under advertising

Leave a Reply

